Chiefs Convention Haverstraw Fire Department

On February 14, 1859 the New York State Legislature passed an act which provided for, and regulated the election of a Chief and two Assistant Chiefs of the Fire Department of the Village of Warren, now Haverstraw, New York. The first convention held under this Act was on May 8 1859 in the United States Hotel , and Samuel A. VerValen of Rescue was elected the first Chief receiving 52 votes over Belding Barnes, of Warren Fire Engine Company No. 1, who got 46 votes. William Oldfield of Warren No. 1 was named First Assistant and Benjamin Felter of Union No. 2  Second Assistant Chief.

On June 7, 1934 a special meeting of the Fire Council was held for the purpose of adopting an amendment to the Constitution and By-Laws of the Haverstraw Fire Department to allow equal representation to the board by allowing election of one Chief Engineer and 4 assistants for the ensuing year, one from each of the five companies. Read about the Combination HERE.

The 2009 Convention will be held on Thursday evening April 9th in General Warren Emergency #2’s quarters at 8pm sharp. This year marks the 150th anniversary of the Chiefs Convention.

#2’s Delegates to the 2009 Chiefs Convention:

  • Ex-Chief Joseph P Gordon 1964-1966
  • Ex-Chief Frank ‘Bud’ Wassmer 1991-1992
  • Ex-Chief Andrew M Connors 1999-2000


  • Chief of Department Peter J. Rugg

Read more about the history of the Chiefs Convention on the History page.

1 Comment

  1. The the results are in:
    After Village Board Approval:
    * 4-1 – Chief Peter Rugg, General Warren #2
    * 4-2 – 1st Assistant Chief Patrick McNamee, Relief Hose #3
    * 4-3 – 2nd Assistant Chief Al Lynch, Lady Warren #5
    * 4-4 – 3rd Assistant Chief Robert Drexler, Cosgriff Hose Co #4
    * 4-5 -4th Assistant Chief Thomas Price, Rescue H&L #1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *